2020 Student AwardsEconomics

Graduate Awards

William P. Snavely Award for Outstanding Achievement in Graduate Studies in Economics

William P. Snavely was the first Chairman of the Economics Department, serving in that capacity from 1973 to 1981. In his honor, the Department presents the Snavely Award for Outstanding Achievement in Graduate Studies in Economics to our most outstanding PhD student graduating each academic year.

  • Jordan Lofthouse
Meet the Awardees »

Israel M. Kirzner Award for Outstanding Dissertation in Austrian Economics

The Israel M. Kirzner Award was established in 2002 to honor the contributions to Austrian economics made by Professor Israel Kirzner during his illustrious research and teaching career. Each academic year, this award is given to a graduating student in recognition of their outstanding dissertation in Austrian economics.

  • Abigail Devereaux
Meet the Awardees »

Undergraduate Awards

F.A. Hayek Essay Awards

  • Molly Harnish
  • James Talocka
  • Jacob Wade
Meet the Awardees »

Vernon Smith Essay Awards

  • Alex Madajian
  • Asher Zawacki
Meet the Awardees »

Howard R. Bloch Memorial Award

Awarded to our top performing student in the economics program.

  • Logan Hansen
Meet the Awardees »

Excellence Award

  • Kendal Angeloff
  • Edward Ayers
  • Goen Chang
  • Yuyou Dai
  • Alicia Ehlert
  • Ryan Fraser
  • Heyi Gao
  • Nikhil Jain
  • Gabriel Jones
  • Attila Kiss
  • Conner Kolessides
  • Jaehyo Lee
  • Zhiwewi Lei
  • Dominic Pino
  • Jace White
  • Yiheng Zhang
Meet the Awardees »

Outstanding Academic Achievement in Economics

Award for students in the top 2% of the graduating class in economics.

  • Aleida Baumgartner
  • Caleb Petitt
  • Nandini Tivakaran
Meet the Awardees »

Departmental Honors in Economics

This is the highest academic distinction awarded by the economics department. This award is given to students who have a GPA of 3.5 or higher and have successfully completed an undergraduate thesis in economics.

  • Goen Chang
  • Ryan Fraser
Meet the Awardees »