Job Market Candidates

Thank you for visiting our Economics Job Market Candidates page. We are pleased to present our 2021-2022 job market candidates.

 

 

Rachael Behr

Rachael Behr 
CV - Website

Dissertation Title:  The Political Economy of COVID-19
Advisor:  Virgil H. Storr vstorr@gmu.edu
Primary Fields: Austrian Economics
Secondary Fields: Economic Sociology
Job Paper: Tocquevillean Association and the Market
Email:  rbehr@gmu.edu

Back to Top

Gregory Caskey

Gregory W. Caskey 
CV - Website

Dissertation Title:  Three Essays on the Role of China in the Developing World
Advisor:  Tyler Cowen  tcowen@gmu.edu
Primary Fields: Applied Microeconomics, Development Economics
Secondary Fields: Institutional Economics, Political Economy
Job Paper:  Chinese Development Lending and the Amplification Effect
Email:  gcaskey@gmu.edu

Back to Top

Kaman Ho

Kaman Ho
CV - Website

Dissertation Title:  The Mongol Conquest and the Origins of Economic Disparities in Imperial and Modern China
Advisor: John V.C. Nye  jnye@gmu.edu
Primary Fields: Applied Microeconomics, Economic History
Secondary Fields: Development Economics, Political Economy
Job Paper: The Mongol Conquest, State Capacity, and Historical Stagnation of Imperial China
Email:  kho5@gmu.edu

Back to Top

Zachary Kessler

Zachary B. Kessler
CV - Website

Dissertation Title:  An Algorithmic Framework for Modeling Institutional Processes: Applications to Industrial Organization, Development, and Macroeconomics
Advisor: Richard E. Wagner  rwagner@gmu.edu 
Primary Fields: Political Economy, Macroeconomics
Secondary Fields: Computational Economics, Network Theory
Job Paper: Endogenous Network Effect Generation through Political and Market Interaction: Evidence from Florida Home Values 
Email:  zkessle@gmu.edu

Back to Top

Jonathan Murphy

Jonathan (Jon) Murphy 
CV - Website

Dissertation Title:  Three Essays on Experts and Cost
Advisor:  Donald J. Boudreaux  dboudrea@gmu.edu
Primary Fields: Law & Economics, Market Failure
Secondary Fields: Political Economy
Job Paper: Cascading Expert Failure
Email:  jmurph23@gmu.edu

Back to Top

Robert T. Omberg

Robert T. Omberg
CV - Website

Dissertation Title:  Essays in Applied Microeconomics
Advisor:  Alex Tabarrok  atabarro@gmu.edu
Primary Fields: Law and Economics, Industrial Organization
Secondary Fields: Labor Economics, Economics of Crime
Job Paper:  The Labor Market Impacts of Ridesharing on American Cities
Email:  romberg@gmu.edu

Back to Top

Nathaniel Smith

Nathaniel W. Smith 
CV - Website

Dissertation Title:  The Market Process: Entrepreneurship, Intervention, and the Role of the State
Advisor:  Christopher J. Coyne ccoyne3@gmu.edu 
Primary Fields: International Trade, Economic History
Secondary Fields: Market Process Theory, Entrepreneurship
Job Paper:  The Dynamics of International Intervention: Entrepreneurial Discovery and the Market Process
Email:  nsmith39@gmu.edu

Back to Top

Dillon Tauzin

Dillon Tauzin
CV - Website

Dissertation Title:  Economics and Ethics in Frank Knight's Thinking
Advisor:  Peter J. Boettke  pboettke@gmu.edu
Primary Fields: History of economics, Economics of education
Secondary Fields: Market Process, Public choice
Job Paper:  Liberalism and Intelligent Action: John Dewey's Influence on Frank Knight
Email:  dtauzin@gmu.edu

Back to Top

Henry Thompson

Henry Thompson
CV - Website

Dissertation Title:  Three Essays in Applied Political Economy
Advisor:  Peter T. Leeson  pleeson@gmu.edu
Primary Fields: Political Economy, Law and Economics
Secondary Fields: Applied Microeconomics, Austrian Economics
Job Paper:  Cosa Nostra Courts
Email:  hthomps@gmu.edu

Back to Top

   

 

 

   


 
   
   
   

 

Back to Top