Economics
College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Job Market Candidates

Thank you for visiting our Economics Job Market Candidates page. We are pleased to present our 2016-2017 job market candidates.

If you have questions concerning our students or need further assistance in contacting prospective candidates, please contact the dissertation advisor listed.

 


 Burns, Scott

 Scott A. Burns

Dissertation Title:  Finance For All: Three Essays on How Best to Promote Financial Development in the Developing World
Advisor:  Lawrence H. White lwhite11@gmu.edu
Primary Fields:  Monetary Economics, Austrian Economics
Secondary Fields: Public Choice, Development Economics, History of Economic Thought
Job Paper:  Finance for All: How Market-led Innovations Have Transformed Financial Access in the Developing World
Homepage
CV
Email:  sburns13@gmu.edu


Candela, Rosolino

Rosolino Candela

Dissertation Title:  Three Essays on the Economics of Property Rights with Applications to the Political Economy of Italian Unification
Advisor:  Peter J. Boettke pboettke@gmu.edu
Primary Fields:  Austrian Economics, Development Economics
Secondary Fields: Public Choice, History of Economic Thought
Job Paper:  The Political Economy of Italian Unification: Insecurity of Property Rights and the Role of Land Reform
Homepage  
CV
Email:  rcandela@gmu.edu


 Carson, Byron 

Byron B. Carson

Dissertation Title:  The Political Economy of Epidemiology
Advisor:  Christopher Coyne ccoyne3@gmu.edu
Primary Fields:  Public Choice, Austrian Economics
Secondary Fields: Development and Health Economics
Job Paper:  Responsiveness and Firm-led Disease Prevention: Three Cases from the 2014 Ebola Epidemic in Liberia
Homepage
CV
Email:  bcarson2@gmu.edu

Back to Top


 Caton, James

James Caton

Dissertation Title:  An Agent-based Theory of  Social Economy
Advisor:  Richard E. Wagner rwagner@gmu.edu
Primary Fields:  Agent-based Computational Economics, Entrepreneurship
Secondary Fields: Market Process Theory, Monetary Economics
Job Paper:  Entrepreneurship, Search Costs, and Ecological Rationality in an Agent-based Economy
Homepage
CV
Email: jcaton@gmu.edu


Deyo, Darwyyn

 

Darwyyn Deyo

Dissertation Title: Law and Labor Markets: Three Essays on Individual Decision Making
Advisor:  Thomas Stratmann tstratma@gmu.edu
Primary Fields:  Labor Economics, Law and Economics
Secondary Fields: Health Economics, Economics of Crime
Job Paper:  Licensing and Product Quality: Evidence Using Yelp Consumer Reviews
Homepage 
CV
Email: ddeyo@gmu.edu

Back to Top


 Faria, Anna

Anna B. Faria

Dissertation Title:  Coffee Culture: Three Essays on the Political Economy and Development of Brazil in the Early Twentieth Century
Advisor:  Peter J. Boettke pboettke@gmu.edu
Primary Fields:  Development Economics, Economic History
Secondary Fields: Political Economy
Job Paper:  Coffee, Immigrants and Growth in Brazil
Homepage 
CV
Email: faria.annab@gmail.com

Back to Top


 Finley, Theresa

Theresa S. Finley

Dissertation Title:  Essays on Religion and Institutions in European Economic History
Advisor:  John V.C. Nye jnye@gmu.edu
Primary Fields:  Economic History, Institutional Economics
Secondary Fields: Economics of Religion, Law and Economics
Job Paper:  Free Riding in the Monastery: Club Goods, the Cistercian Order and Agricultural Investment in Ancien Regime France 
Homepage 
CV
Email: tfinley@gmu.edu

Back to Top


 Freer, Mikhail

Mikhail Freer

Dissertation Title:  Essays on Preference Extensions
Advisor:  Cesar Martinelli  cmarti33@gmu.edu  and  Marco Castillo marco.castillo@tamu.edu 
Primary Fields:  Economic Theory, Experimental Economics
Secondary Fields: Market Design, Political Economy
Job Paper:  A Revealed Preference Test of Quasi-Linear Preferences
Homepage 
CV
Email: mfreer@gmu.edu

Back to Top


 Harwick, Cameron

Cameron Harwick

Dissertation Title:  Credit and Cranium: Three Essays on the Meaning of Money
Advisor:  Lawrence H. White lwhite11@gmu.edu
Primary Fields:  Monetary Economics
Secondary Fields: Macroeconomics, New Institutional Economics
Job Paper:  Helicopters and the Neutrality of Money: An Essay in Loanable Fundamentalism
Homepage 
CV
Email: thrica@gmail.com

Back to Top


 Kling, Hannah Mead

Hannah K. Mead Kling

Dissertation Title:  Implications of Regional Segregation for Regulation and Productivity
Advisor:  Garett Jones gjones@gmu.edu
Primary Fields:  Regional Economics, Public Choice
Secondary Fields: Productivity, Regulation
Job Paper:  Land-use regulations as exclusion: A GIS analysis
Homepage  
CV
Email:  hmead@gmu.edu

Back to Top


 

Cheryl Litman

Dissertation Title:  Behavior Under Scrutiny
Advisor:  Thomas Stratmann  tstratma@gmu.edu
Primary Fields:  Applied Microeconomics, Institutional Economics
Secondary Fields: Economic History, Sports Economics
Job Paper:  Affiliation Bias: Evidence from Figure Skating
Homepage  
CV
Email:  cheryl.litman@gmail.com

Back to Top


 Matson, Erik

Erik W. Matson

Dissertation Title:  Reason, Science, and Political Economy: Interpretations from David Hume and Adam Smith
Advisor:  Daniel B. Klein dklein@gmu.edu
Primary Fields:  History of Economic Thought
Secondary Fields: Philosophy of Economics
Job Paper:  The Sympathetic Formation of Reason and the Limits of Science
Homepage
CV
Email: ewmatson@gmail.com

Back to Top

 

Mayo, Robert

 

Robert L. Mayo

Dissertation Title:  Three Essays on Other-Regarding Preferences in One-Shot Anonymous Games
Advisor:  Kevin McCabe kmccabe@gmu.edu
Primary Fields:  Behavioral Economics, Experimental Economics
Secondary Fields: Agent-based Computational Economics
Job Paper:  Decomposing Altruism: An Experiment to Quantify Warm Glow by Demographic Group
Homepage
CV
Email: rmayo3@gmu.edu

Back to Top


 Middleton, Austin

Edward Austin Middleton

Dissertation Title:  Projectors and Sympathetic Credit Markets in 18th Century Scotland
Advisor:  David M. Levy dlevy@gmu.edu
Primary Fields: History of Economic Thought, Monetary Theory
Secondary Fields:  Public Choice 
Job Paper:  Adam Smith, Jeremy Bentham, and Usury Laws: "Projectors" Reconsidered in their 18th Century Context
Homepage  
CV
Email:  emiddlet@odu.edu

Back to Top

 Niles, Raymond

Raymond Niles

Dissertation Title:  Three Essays on the Entrepreneurial Business Cycle
Advisor:  Peter J. Boettke pboettke@gmu.edu
Primary Fields:  Monetary and Banking 
Secondary Fields: Austrian Economics, History of Economic Thought
Job Paper:  The Unresolved Problem of Gratuitous Credit in Austrian Banking Theory
Homepage
CV
Email: rniles2@gmu.edu

Back to Top


 Norgaard, Julia

Julia R. Norgaard

Dissertation Title:  Economics of Illicit Behaviors:  Terrorism and the Internet Wild West
Advisor:  Thomas Stratmann tstratma@gmu.edu
Primary Fields:  Applied Microeconomics, Political Economy
Secondary Fields: Development, Law and Economics
Job Paper:  Reputation in the Internet black market:  an empirical and theoretical analysis of the Deep Web
Homepage
CV
Email: jnorgaar@gmu.edu

Back to Top


Oh, Sarah

Sarah Oh

Dissertation Title:  Essays in Broadband Economics
Advisor:  Tyler Cowen tcowen@gmu.edu
Primary Fields:  Applied Microeconomics
Secondary Fields: Law and Economics, Monetary Economics
Job Paper:  Broadband Stimulus in the Recovery Act: What Concerned 71 Economists?
Homepage
CV
Email: soh5@gmu.edu

Back to Top


 Sterpan, Ion
 

Ion Sterpan

Dissertation Title:  Polycentricity and the Theory of Order
Advisor:  Peter J. Boettke pboettke@gmu.edu
Primary Fields:  Austrian Economics, Public Choice
Secondary Fields:  New Institutional Economics, Social Philosophy
Job Paper:  Polycentric Systems as Error Correctors
Homepage  
CV
Email:  isterpan@gmu.edu

Back to Top

 

Peter Twieg

Dissertation Title:  Investigating the Emergence of Endogenous Institutions in Virtual World Experiments
Advisor:  Kevin McCabe  kmccabe@gmu.edu
Primary Fields:  Experimental Economics, Institutional Economics
Secondary Fields:  Behavioral Economics, Public Economics
Job Paper:  The Determinants of Territorial Property Rights in a Spatial Commons Experiment
Homepage  
CV
Email:  twiegp@gmail.com

   

 

Back to Top

 

Print Friendly and PDF