Economics

College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Job Market Candidates

Thank you for visiting our Economics Job Market Candidates page. We are pleased to present our 2013-2014 job market candidates.

If you have questions concerning our students or need further assistance in contacting prospective candidates, please contact the dissertation advisor listed. 

Luigi Butera

Dissertation Title:  Three Essays on the Economics of Image Motivation
Advisor:  Daniel E. Houser dhouser@gmu.edu and Marie Claire Villeval  villeval@gate.cnrs.fr
Primary Fields:  Applied Microeconomics, Experimental Economics
Secondary Fields:  Behavioral Economics, Public Economics
Job Paper:  Good News, Bad News, and Social Image: The Market for Charitable Giving
Homepage:  http://www.luigibutera.com/ 
CV:  http://www.luigibutera.com/resume
Email:  lbutera2@gmail.com

Jingnan Chen

Dissertation Title:  Three Behavioral Economic Analysis of Lies and Broken Contracts
Advisor:  Daniel E. Houser dhouser@gmu.edu
Primary Fields:  Behavioral Game Theory, Experimental Economics
Secondary Fields:  Applied Microeconomics, Behavioral Economics
Job Paper:  Broken Contracts and Hidden Partnership: Experiment and Theory
Homepage:  http://jingnanchen.com/
CV:  http://jingnanchen.com/#cv
Email:  jchenw@gmu.edu

Zachary Gochenour

Dissertation Title:  The Political Economy of Immigration
Advisor:  Bryan Caplan bcaplan@gmu.edu
Primary Fields:  Political Economy, Applied Microeconomics
Secondary Fields:  Economic History
Job Paper:  The Political Externalities of Immigration
Homepage:  http://zacgochenour.com/
CV:  http://zacgochenour.com/pdf/gochenour.pdf
Email:  zgochenour@gmail.com

Alexander William Salter

Dissertation Title:  Essays on the Political Economy of Monetary Institutions and Policy
Advisor:  Lawrence H. White lwhite11@gmu.edu
Primary Fields:  Macroeconomics, Monetary Theory
Secondary Fields:  Austrian Economics, Political Economy
Job Paper:  Robust Political Economy and the Lender of Last Resort
Homepage:  http://www.awsalter.com/  
CV:  http://www.awsalter.com/uploads/1/8/8/7/18876336/salter_cv_pdf.pdf
Email:  asalter2@gmu.edu

Akhmad Rizal Shidiq

Dissertation Title:  Essays on Firms and Political Connections in Indonesia
Advisor:  Garett B. Jones gjonesb@gmu.edu
Primary Fields:  Monetary Theory, Development Economics
Secondary Fields:  Public Choice
Job Paper:  Does Political Connection Reduce Firm Liquidity Constraint?
Homepage: http://scholar.harvard.edu/rizalshidiq 
CV:  http://scholar.harvard.edu/rizalshidiq/biocv/cv
Email:  ashidiq@masonlive.gmu.edu

Rutger Van Bergem

Dissertation Title:  The Effects of Legal and Regulatory Frictions on Macro Economic Fluctuations
Advisor:  Donald B. Boudreaux dboudrea@gmu.edu
Primary Fields:  Macroeconomics, Law and Economics
Secondary Fields:  Austrian Economics, Philosophy and Economics
Email:  rvanberg@masonlive.gmu.edu

Print Friendly and PDF